IUPAC’s scientific activities are lead by its Divisions, each representing the branch of chemistry indicated by its Divisional title, and who are ultimately responsible to the IUPAC Bureau. Each Division is administered by a Division Committee consisting of Titular Members, Associate Members, and National Representatives having the requisite expertise. The Divisions serve as the catalyst for scientific exchange, facilitating international discussion and collaboration in order to address problems and develop recommendations on nomenclature, symbols, units, terminology, and conventions in the scientific field for which they are specifically responsible.

IUPAC currently has eight Divisions: