• MD (1951) University of Copenhagen
  • Specialist Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Technology (1957)
  • DMSc (2004) University of Copenhagen

1951-55 : various medical residencies 1956-70 : Reader, Copenhagen University Institute of Medical Microbiology 1959-70 : Head, Department of Medical Microbiology, Royal Dental School of Copenhagen 1970-77 : Head, Department of Clinical Chemistry at the De Gamles By 1977-96 : Head, Department of Clinical Chemistry at Frederiksberg Hospital 1997-99 : Head, Department of Standardization in Laboratory Medicine H:S Kommunehospitalet and H:S Region H Frederiksberg Hospital (2000-)


  • Quantities and units in clinical chemistry (1967)
  • Good practice in decentralized analytical clinical measurement (1992)
  • Continuous quality improvement in clinical laboratories (1994)
  • Compendium on terminology and nomenclature in clinical laboratory sciences (1995)
  • An Ontology on Property for physical, chemical and biological systems, thesis (2004); independent updated text at <ontology.iupac.org>
  • Numerous articles in professional journals


Vice President (1973-78), President (1979-84), Past President (1985-90), International Federation of Clinical Chemistry President, European Confederation of Laboratory Medicine (1994-97) Chairman, Danish Society of Clinical Chemistry (1991-93)


Commemorative Lecture Enrique Concustell Bas (1988) Henry Wishinsky Distinguished International Services Award (1993) Honorary Member of various national clinical laboratory societies Professor James D Westgard Quality Award (1998)

In Memoriam – A personal memo shared by Brynn Hibbert, Chem Int Oct 2019, p. 40; https://doi.org/10.1515/ci-2019-0415