• Studied Pharmacy and Chemistry at Strasbourg University, France.
  • PhD (1964) Organic Chemistry, Strasbourg, France.

1969 Appointed Professor of Organic Chemistry and Medicinal Chemistry at the Faculty of Pharmacy, Louis Pasteur University, Strasbourg.
Created and headed for 27 years the Molecular Pharmacochemistry Unit of the CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique) that led to the discovery, synthesis, and development of the psychotropic drug minaprine, marketed in Europe since 1980.
Author and co-author of some 300 publications. Edited the Practice of Medicinal Chemistry, Academic Press, 1996.
1999 Founded Prestwick Chemical Inc. as President and Chief Scientific Officer.
1984 Awarded the Charles Mentzer Prize of the Société Française de Chimie Thérapeutique
1995 Awarded the Leon Velluz Prize of the French Academy of Science.
1998 Awarded the Prix de l’Ordre des Pharmaciens by the French Academy of Pharmacy.
2000 Awarded the Carl Mannich Prize of the German Pharmaceutical Society.

  • IUPAC:
    • 1988-1992 President of the Medicinal Chemistry Section
    • 1992-1995 Past-President/li>
    • Made outstanding contributions to re-establishing the existence of the Medicinal Chemistry Section.
    • 1998-2000 President of Division VII: Chemistry and Human Health
  • Co-edited IUPAC books:
    • 1992 Medicinal Chemistry for the 21st century, Blackwell
    • 2002 Handbook of Pharmaceutical Salts, Verlag, Helvetica Chimica Acta