Election of IUPAC Officers and Bureau Members – Call for Nominations

At its General Assembly in São Paulo, Brazil, on Wednesday 12 and Thursday 13 July 2017, the IUPAC Council will be asked to elect a Vice President and members of the Bureau to fulfill the vacancies created by retiring members. IUPAC National Adhering Organizations are invited to submit nominations no later than 30 March 2017.

On 1 January 2018 Qi-Feng Zhou (China), Vice President and President-Elect of IUPAC, will become President. Natalia Tarasova (Russia), current President, will become Past President and remain an officer and a member of the Bureau for a period of two years, while Marc Cesa (USA), current Past President, will retire. Secretary General Richard Hartshorn (New Zealand) and Treasurer Colin Humphris (UK) were both elected by the Council in August 2015 for a four-year term and will continue their term.

In addition, there are this year four vacancies for Elected Members of the Bureau. Elected Members are elected to a four-year term, and are eligible for re-election to a second four-year term. No National Adhering Organization shall have more than one Elected Member on the Bureau, and the principle of fair geographical representation of Members shall be taken into account, as stipulated in the IUPAC Statutes.

Elected Members whose terms expire at the end of 2017 are:

  • Prof. Russell J. Boyd (Canada) (2014-2017); eligible for nomination
  • Prof. Tavarekere K. Chandrashekar (India) (2014-2017) eligible for nomination
  • Prof. Christopher K. Ober (USA) (2014-2017); eligible for nomination
  • Prof. Kaoru Yamanouchi (Japan) (2014-2017); eligible for nomination


The following are Members whose terms continue to the end of 2019:

  • Prof. Christopher M. A. Brett (Portugal) (2012-2015, 2016-2019)
  • Prof. Mei-Hung Chiu (China/Taipei) (2016-2019)
  • Prof. Hemda Garelick (UK) (2016-2019)
  • Prof. Ehud Keinan (Israel) (2016-2019)
  • Prof. Kew-Ho Lee (Korea) (2016-2019)
  • Prof. Pietro Tundo (Italy) (2016-2019)


In addition to the five officers and the ten Elected Members, the Bureau also includes the eight Division Presidents (each elected by each individual Division), and five members representing the following Standing Committees, i.e. the Committee on Chemistry Education (CCE), the Committee on Chemistry and Industry (COCI), CHEMRAWN (the Committee on CHEMical Research Applied to World Needs), the Interdivisional Committee on Terminology, Nomenclature and Symbols (ICTNS), and the Committee on Publications and Cheminformatics Data Standards (CPCDS).

IUPAC National Adhering Organizations are invited to submit nominations to the Secretary General at <[email protected]> no later than 30 March 2017.

It is important for a vibrant organization that all vacant positions are filled after a fair and vigorous election process, so all nominations are encouraged. So, to make your voice heard, contact your National Adhering Organization and get involved.

What Does the Bureau Do?

The Bureau is established by the Council to act for the Union during intervals between meetings of the Council; it therefore fulfills important functions by ensuring continuity. The Bureau normally meets once a year. It consists of the officers (president, vice president, secretary general, treasurer, immediate past president), the division presidents and chairs of the operational standing committees, and 10 other members elected by the Council. The elections should also allow for a fair geographical representation. In principle, no member country should have more than one elected member on the Bureau.
The principal duties of the Bureau—as quoted in the statutes—are as follows:

  • to ensure the strict observance of statutes and bylaws
  • to prepare the agenda for meetings of the Council and in particular
  • to make provision for elections
  • to make recommendations thereon to the Council
  • to attend the meetings of the Council
  • to implement the decisions of the Council and execute the program of the Union as directed by the Council
  • to take steps to ensure that international congresses of pure and applied chemistry are held
  • to take decisions about the holding of scientific meetings as proposed by the division committees
  • to take all other steps necessary for the good conduct of the affairs of the Union

See the Bylaws for more details.

Comments are closed.