Christine Luscombe is the recipient of the 2024 Stepto Lecture Award

The “Stepto Lecture” award was established in 2016 to honour the memory of Bob Stepto, who passed in 2015, at the age of 78. Professor Stepto served IUPAC for 28 years, including his tenure as Chair of the Commission on Macromolecular Nomenclature (now known as the Subcommittee on Polymer Terminology) from 1991 to 2000, followed by his presidency of the Polymer Division from 2002 to 2005. An essential aspect of this award is that the recipient should not only be an exceptional polymer scientist acknowledged as a global leader in their research area but, in the true spirit of Bob, should also have made a lasting contribution to the polymer science community beyond their research, whether through IUPAC or other avenues. The recipient is chosen by the Polymer Division based on nominations received during the year of the biennial World Polymer Congress (MACRO Meeting).

Christine Luscombe

In 2024, Professor Christine Luscombe from the Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology will receive the award, joining the esteemed ranks of polymer scientists recognised for their exceptional contributions to both research and service to the broader community. The award acknowledges her groundbreaking work in precision polymerization, particularly in conjugated polymers for a wide range of optoelectronic applications. Additionally, it recognizes her significant service to IUPAC, having served as Secretary of the IUPAC Polymer Terminology Committee (2014-2015) and as Vice President and subsequently President of IUPAC’s Polymer Division (2016-2019, 2020-2023). Christine serves as an invaluable ambassador and role model for women in STEM. Beyond her contributions to Polymer Science, Christine also balances her responsibilities as a mother to a young family, exemplifying excellence both in her professional career and her role as a parent. Christine will deliver the Bob Stepto plenary award lecture at the upcoming 50th World Polymer Congress (MACRO 2024), scheduled for early July in Warwick in the UK.


Previous Awardees
> 2022 Graeme Moad
> 2020 Tony Ryan
> 2018 Chris Ober
> 2016 Michael Buback

< more about the Stepto Lecture Award

50th World Polymer Congress – MACRO2024

Comments are closed.