IUPAC International Award for Advances in Harmonized Approaches to Crop Protection Chemistry – Call for Nominations

This award recognizes individuals in government, intergovernmental organizations, academia, and industry who have exercised personal leadership for outstanding regulatory, public policy, and/or educational contributions supporting international harmonization of crop protection chemistry. The award is administered by the IUPAC Advisory Committee on Crop Protection Chemistry, a body of the IUPAC Division of Chemistry and the Environment, and is presented on a roughly biennial basis.

The next award will be presented as part of the Agrochemicals Division program for the Fall 2023 American Chemical Society meeting in San Francisco, USA, during August of 2023. Awardees receive an honorarium plus travel and per diem reimbursement to attend the award presentation ceremony.

Nominations for the 2023 award are due by December 1, 2022 and must be submitted via on-line nomination form and will consist of:

  • A nomination letter including a description (200-1000 words) of the reasons why the nominee should receive this award, stressing the individual’s major accomplishments toward international harmonization of crop protection chemistry.
  • A curriculum vitae of the candidate that includes places and names of employment, professional affiliations, committee and working group assignments, and listing of relevant regulatory guidance documents, reports, and/or publications.
  • A minimum of one and a maximum of three letters of support.

Download the Call for Nominations Flyer

IUPAC acknowledges Corteva Agrisciences for providing continued corporate sponsorship of this award.

Past Awardees:

2019 – Mark R. Lynch (posthumously), Department of Agriculture and Food, Ireland

2016 – Daniel L. Kunkel, IR-4 Project, Rutgers, NJ, USA

2014 – Árpád Ambrus, National Food Chain Safety Office, Budapest, Hungary

2012 – Lois A. Rossi, Office of Pesticide Programs, Environmental Protection Agency, Washington, DC, USA

2010 – Denis J. Hamilton, Animal and Plant Service, Queensland Department of Primary Industries, Brisbane, Australia

Call for Nominations published in the Oct 2022 issue of Chemistry International.

Feb 2023 – Announcement of the award presented to Keith Solomon

feature photo by Jordan Nelson on Unsplash


Comments are closed.