2020 IUPAC-ThalesNano Prize In Flow Chemistry and Microfluidics – Call For Nominations

The IUPAC-ThalesNano Prize in Flow Chemistry and Microfluidics is to be awarded to an internationally recognized scientist, whose activities or published accounts have made an outstanding contribution in the field of flow chemistry, microfluidics, micro fabrication, and micro systems engineering in academia or industry.

The IUPAC-ThalesNano Prize has been established in 2011. In 2018, the recipient was C. Oliver Kappe is Professor of Chemistry at the University of Graz (Austria). The 2020 Prize will be presented during the Flow Chemistry Congress Conference in 2021 in Boston and where the recipient will also give a lecture on the subject of his/her research.

The Prize, of USD 7500, has been established by a generous gift from the Hungarian Technology company ThalesNano Inc. to acknowledge the key role that flow chemistry plays towards the improvement of chemical processes.

Applications should be received by nomination only, with just one person acting as the nominator, with a total of five (5) individuals as referees overall. The package must be submitted electronically and should contain a complete resume, a professional autobiography of not more than two pages, and a one-page summary of what the individual considers to be his/her activities, accomplishments and/or publications that have had the most significant impact upon the field of Flow Chemistry. The material will be forwarded confidentially to an independent selection committee appointed by the IUPAC Committee on Chemistry and Industry.

Nomination materials should be submitted by

31 July 2020 through this NOMINATION FORM 

For information, please contact by email at <[email protected]>

Previous Awardees:
2018 – Professor C. Oliver Kappe (University of Graz, Austria)
2016 – Professor Volker Hessel (TU/e – Eindhoven University of Technology)
2014 – Professor Steven V. Ley (University of Cambridge, UK)
2012 – Professor Klavs F. Jensen (MIT, USA)

Call for nominations first announced 9 Jan 2020; Update 26 March 2020: submission deadline changed from 31 March 2020 to 31 July 2020.

Call for Nomination published in Chem Int April 2020, p. 26

Comments are closed.