DSM Materials Sciences Award 2016 goes to Professor Steven P. Armes

Royal DSM, a global science-based company active in health, nutrition and materials, announced that Professor Steven P. Armes (54), Professor of Polymer and Colloid Chemistry at the University of Sheffield (UK), has been awarded the DSM Materials Science Award 2016. The Award recognizes his exceptional contribution to the advancement of macromolecular architecture which is applied in many everyday situations, including the development of dirt-repellant coatings and lubricants that reduce wear and fuel consumption.

(from L) Marcel Wubbolts, Steve Armes, and Rolf Benthem-van
(from left) Marcel Wubbolts, Steve Armes, and Rolf Benthem-van.

An international jury, chaired by Dr. Marcel Wubbolts, Chief Technology Officer of DSM, selected Professor Armes from among the candidates proposed in a public call for nominations. Professor Armes received the award − which carries a cash prize of EUR 50,000 − from Dr. Wubbolts at a special ceremony at the University of Sheffield on Wednesday, July 20, 2016.

Professor Steven P. Armes: “I’m delighted to accept this Award on behalf of the past and current members of my research group, whose hard work and enthusiasm keep me motivated,” said Prof. Armes. “I’d also like to thank Professor Tony Ryan for nominating me and also my many academic and industrial collaborators across the world, including various current and former scientists at DSM. As a polymer chemist, I believe that the most interesting problems are best identified by working across academic disciplines, often in close partnership with industrial colleagues.”

Dr. Marcel Wubbolts:“The jury recognizes the broad impact of Professor Armes’ work, as is also exemplified by statements of experts in the field of Polymer Chemistry. The theme of this year’s Award was Macromolecular Architecture for Brighter Living, and Prof. Armes’ work resonates with all aspects of this theme. Professor Armes has also been actively involved in turning academic knowledge into societally relevant solutions to needs. I’m really looking forward to seeing the progress he will make during the rest of his career.”

{original release https://www.dsm.com/corporate/media/informationcenter-news/2016/07/2016-07-25-dsm-materials-sciences-award-2016-goes-to-professor-steven-p-armes.html}


Previous DSM Materials Science Awards were presented to:
2008, Craig Hawker (see Chem Int, vol. 30, no. 5, 2008, pp. 17-18. https://doi.org/10.1515/ci.2008.30.5.17c)
2010, Bert Meijer
2012, Geoff Coates (see Chem Int, vol. 38, no. 6, 2016, pp. 20-21. https://doi.org/10.1515/ci-2016-0614)
2014 Jian Ping Gong (Chem Int, vol. 36, no. 6, 2014, pp. 17-18. https://doi.org/10.1515/ci-2014-0612)


About DSM Materials Sciences Award
DSM bestows the Materials Sciences Award every two years in recognition of outstanding scientific work by an established scientist who has contributed significantly to the advancement of the Materials Sciences field. The Award forms part of DSM’s Bright Science Awards Program, and is designed to recognize and reward lifetime achievement on the part of seasoned scientists from all over the world. Previous recipients include Professor Jiang Ping Gong of the Faculty of Advanced Life Science at Hokkaido University in Japan and Professor Geoff Coates of Cornell University (USA).

Comments are closed.