DSM Materials Sciences Award – Call for Nominations

Open to scientists worldwide, we bestow this award every two years in recognition of outstanding scientific work by an established scientist who has significantly contributed to the advancement of the Materials Sciences field. The chosen theme for 2016 is “Macromolecular Architectures”. The award will be presented at the IUPAC MACRO WORLD Polymer Congress to be held in Istanbul, Turkey from 17th to 21st July. Please note: the call for nominations closes on 30 April 2016.

As in previous years, DSM has teamed up with IUPAC to invite nominations for this year’s award which forms part of DSM’s Bright Science Awards program.

Scientists from across the world who have made major contributions to fundamental or applied research in the fields of Polymer Chemistry, Polymer Assembly and Material Characterization on the micro- and meso-scopic scales, can be nominated for the Award. A prime requirement is that the candidate’s research must have significantly advanced the world’s understanding and knowledge of key questions in this specified field.

Would you like to nominate a scientist whose work has significantly advanced the world’s understanding and knowledge of key questions in the chosen field? Further details on eligibility, selection, judging, presentation and the nomination itself can be found in the ‘Call for Nominations’ (PDF) and you can also complete this form whereupon full details of the nomination procedure will be sent to you.

Previous winners

In 2014 the award was granted to Professor Jiang Ping Gong of the Faculty of Advanced Life Science at Hokkaido University in Japan. The award was in recognition of Professor Gong’s work which has been key to addressing global health and wellness challenges in a world with an aging population and rising global healthcare costs. In 2012 the award was granted to Professor Geoff Coates of the Cornell University in New York (U.S.).

Source: https://www.dsm.com/corporate/science/bright-science-awards/lifetime-achievement-awards/materials-sciences-award.html


PS: On 25 July 2016, DSM announced that Professor Steven P. Armes, Professor of Polymer and Colloid Chemistry at the University of Sheffield (UK), has been awarded the DSM Materials Science Award 2016.

Comments are closed.