

## INTERNATIONAL UNION OF PURE AND APPLIED CHEMISTRY

President Prof. Ehud Keinan (Israel)

Past President Prof. Javier García Martínez (Spain) Vice President Prof. Mary Garson (Australia)

Treasurer Prof. Wolfram Koch (Germany) Secretary General Dr. Zoltán Mester (Canada)

*Executive Director* Dr. Fabienne Meyers (Belgium)

24 January 2025

## Governments should expand funding for basic chemical research

Proclamation signed by Presidents of national Chemical Societies

Humanity faces six global challenges known technologies cannot meet: 1. Atmospheric changes, 2. Sustainable energy, 3. Dwindling raw materials, 4. Water scarcity and safety, 5. Food for everybody, 6. Health problems. Because science is unpredictable and information grows exponentially, these global challenges will likely be met by future technologies. Since these challenges are primarily chemical problems, it is our responsibility and opportunity, as chemists, to solve them by using novel technologies, which will come through basic research.

Basic research also fosters a culture of innovation, curiosity, and critical thinking within society, nurturing a skilled workforce of scientists, researchers, and innovators, boosting a country's scientific capabilities and intellectual capital, leading to long-term societal benefits, and promoting international collaboration.

History shows, particularly over the past 100 years, that basic science research resulted, unexpectedly, in numerous disruptive new technologies that led to transforming industries, improving lives, and shaping the modern world. Some noteworthy examples include the development of transistors, which originated from basic research in semiconductor physics. Fundamental physics research led to the MRI medical imaging technology. The groundbreaking CRISPR-Cas9 gene editing technology originated from basic research on bacterial immune systems. The first antibiotic, Penicillin, was accidentally discovered while studying bacteria. Lithium-ion batteries that power portable electronics and electric vehicles stem from materials science and electrochemistry. The Laser Technology emerged from theoretical physics. The discovery of insulin originated from basic research into physiology. The light-emitting diodes (LEDs) emerged from basic research in semiconductor materials and solid-state physics. Other unexpected technologies include the microwave oven, Velcro, Teflon, X-rays, radioactivity, Super Glue, pacemaker, vulcanized rubber, safety glass, synthetic dyes, quinine, saccharin, anesthesia, the Internet, GPS, and many more.

These examples highlight how basic science research forms the foundation for transformative technologies that drive progress, innovation, and economic growth across multiple sectors, enhancing productivity and improving societal wellbeing. A National Science Foundation (NSF) report indicates that for every dollar spent on basic research, the return can be as high as \$8 in terms of economic output, and research institutions produce a highly trained workforce that advances the industry and national economy. A report by Nature magazine claims that basic research is a critical driver of innovation, with approximately 60% of new technologies arising from discoveries made in basic science. Countries that invest heavily in basic research lead in the global innovation and competitiveness rankings and consistently outperform those with lower investment.

Basic research, driven by hypotheses and curiosity and grounded in universal scientific norms, thrives on collaboration. In contrast, applied research, which is goal-oriented, often involves intellectual property considerations and a lower inclination to share results. Accordingly, fostering a collaborative environment across all research disciplines is essential. Frequently, the most significant breakthroughs occur in these collaborative spaces, making the case for shared knowledge and collective effort.

We encourage policymakers, legislators, government officials, and strategic decision-makers to recognize their pivotal role in prioritizing, securing, and increasing funding for basic research in chemistry and other fields of science. Their decisions can shape the future of innovation and economic growth in their countries.



Ehud Keina

Prof. Fhud Keinan President, IUPAC

Hy Lunka

Prof. Keiji Maruoka President, Chemical Society of Japan

O. Clamban

Prof. Gilberte Chambaud President, French Chemical Society

t) (Hag

Dr. Miia Mäntymäki President, Finnish chemical society

Nama hil

Prof. Tomas Navratil President, Czech Chemical Society

A 65000

Prof. Pall Thordarson President, Royal Australian Chemical Institute President, Hungarian Chemical Society

Prof. Antonio M. Echavarren President, Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry

Prof. Almira Ramanaviciene President, Lithuanian Chemical Society

Ani ley E

Prof. Ioannis Katsoyiannis President, Association of Greek Chemists

mary K. Carroll

Prof. Mary K. Carroll President, American Chemical Society, 2024

Horothy J. Phillips

Prof. Dorothy J. Phillips President, American Chemical Society, 2025

Here S. Sausee

Prof. Jørn H. Hansen President, Norwegian Chemical Society

Prof. Yvonne van der Meer President, Royal Netherlands Chemical Society

Prof. Li-Jun Wan President, Chinese Chemical Society

Sah Re

Prof. Péter G. Szalay

Jug

Prof. Gheorghe Duca President, Chemical Society of Moldova

Prof. M. Raza Shah President, Chemical Society of Pakistan

Ehul Keine

Prof. Ehud Keinan President, Israel Chemical Society

annette Soherty

Dr. Annette Doherty President, Royal Society of Chemistry

hum

Prof. Stefanie Dehnen President, German Chemical Society

Prof. Christophe De Bie President, Royal Flemish Chemical Society

Uday Maitra

Prof. Uday Maitra President, Chemical Research Society of India

MAahill

Prof. Mustafa Culha President, Fed. of Asian Chemical Societies

Prof. Zenixole Tshentu President, South African Chemical Institute

nalled

Prof. Izabela Nowak President, Polish Chemical Society

After fugh

Prof. Angela Agostiano President, EuChemS

Prof. Mahdi Alsahlawi President, Chemical Society of Iraq

IEN

Dr. Tien Thuy Quach Chair, International Younger Chemists' Network

Prof. Gloria Ukalina Obuzor President, Feder. of African Societies of Chemistry



Prof. Ana Cecilia Valderrama Negrón President, Peruvian Chemical Society



Prof. Joanne E. Harvey President, New Zealand Institute of Chemistry



Dr. Shan Zou President, Canadian Society for Chemistry

Prof. Peter Gärtner President, Austrian Chemical Society



Prof. Javier García-Martínez IUPAC President (2022–2023)

apecole

Prof. Natalia Tarasova IUPAC President (2016–2017)

Prof. Joaquim Luís Faria President, Portuguese Chemical Society

Prof. Neil Coville President, Commonwealth Chemistry

Prof. Gregori Ujaque President, Catalan Chemical Society

licellouis

Prof. Gianluca Maria Farinola President, Società Chimica Italiana

Datuk Dr. Soon Ting Kueh President, Institut Kimia Malaysia

Mr. Leontios Philotheou President, Pancyprian Union of Chemists

## Christopher M.A. Brett

Prof. Christopher M. A. Brett IUPAC President (2020–2021)

Martin C Cesa

Prof. Mark Cesa IUPAC President (2014–2015)

Prof. Sainey Cham President, Chemical Society of the Gambia

Prof. Rufus Sha'Ato President, Chemical Society of Nigeria

Modou Fall

Prof. Modou Fall President, Senegalese Committee for Chemistry

Prof. Bahattin Yalçın President, Turkish Chemical Society



Prof. Pat Guiry President, Institute of Chemistry of Ireland

Mr. Ľubomír Švorc President, Slovak Chemical Society

U.F. 3hou

Prof. Qifeng Zhou IUPAC President (2018–2019)

Morean.

Prof. Nicole J. Moreau IUPAC President (2010–2011)