

Distinguished Contribution to Chemistry Education (DCCE) Awards

to be presented at the 27^h ICCE in 2024

Chair of the Award Committee: Suzanne Boniface Members of the Award Committee: Uday Maitra, Antonella Rossi

Award Description:

The IUPAC Committee on Chemistry Education is soliciting nominations for its most prestigious award, the Distinguished Contributions to Chemistry Education (DCCE) award. This award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the improvement of the teaching and learning of chemistry (research and practice and/or professional service) at both local and international levels *over their career*. Emphasis is also placed on their contribution and active participation in international chemistry education activities and contribution and service to IUPAC (CCE). The award is made every second year.

The IUPAC Committee on Chemistry Education DCCE Award Committee will meet to decide by consensus the awardees. The award will be presented during 27th ICCE which will be held in Pattaya, Thailand, on July 15-19, 2024.

Number of Awards

One to three awardees will be offered a plaque in appreciation of distinguished contribution to the advancement of chemistry education.

Eligibility

All members of IUPAC-affiliated countries will be encouraged to consider nominating leading figures in chemistry education research and practice, and/or professional service to chemistry education in their countries or elsewhere who, over the course of their career have also contributed to international chemistry education initiatives including IUPAC projects, the CCE or CCE conferences.

Submission

Nominations and the required supporting material include:

- An official nomination form (available from CCE website).
- The nominee's curriculum vitae (max 5 pages).
- A nominating letter from the primary nominator describing in 750 words or less how the nominee's contribution to chemistry education aligns with each of the criteria for this award.
- Up to two supporting letters from other relevant persons may also be included.

To submit a nomination, create a pdf combining the official nomination form and all the supporting materials into one document. Send the pdf and the name of the nominee via email to Suzanne Boniface at suboni52@gmail.com.

Nomination Deadline: February 28, 2024

Past award winners

- 2010: Peter Atkins, Oxford University, England Lida Schoen, CCE Young Ambassadors of Chemistry, Netherlands
- 2012: Peter Mahaffy, The King's University, Canada Bob Bucat, University of Western Australia, Australia
- 2014: Morton Hoffman, Boston University, USA
- 2016: Kazuko Ogino, Tohoku University, Japan
- 2018: Supawan Tantayanon, Chulalongkorn University, Thailand
- 2020 and 2022: No awards were made due to the COVID pandemic