## Flow Chemistry Society



Founded in 2010

## **Professor C. Oliver Kappe wins the IUPAC-ThalesNano International Prize 2018 for his Outstanding Work In Flow Chemistry**

The Flow Chemistry Society is pleased to announce that the recipient of the **2018 IUPAC** – **ThalesNano Prize in Flow Chemistry** is **Professor C. Oliver Kappe**, University of Graz, Institute of Chemistry.

Prof. Kappe has made an extremely high impact on the development of flow chemistry and contributed to the penetration of continuous processes worldwide from the academia to fine-chemical and pharma industry.

His attention turned early to enabling chemistry, and as the Director of Christian Doppler Laboratory for Microwave Chemistry, University of Graz, Austria (2006-2013), he demonstrated first that microwave batch reactions can be readily translated and up-scaled by high-temperature/high-pressure (high-T/p) flow reactors, thus, established the "microwave-to-flow" paradigm.

For the past decade, the focus of his research has been devoted to flow chemistry and microreaction technology, including a wide range of important synthetic transformations. He proved that many neglected or "forbidden" chemistries (involving azides, halogenation, oxidation, and hydrogenation) can be performed in flow devices in a safe and efficient manner.

Prof. Kappe also acted as a missionary of flow chemistry. He implemented flow chemistry into the university training programs, and helped to cross the disciplinary barriers. He is the Editor-in-Chief for the Journal of Flow Chemistry since its formation in 2011, and prominent member of the Board of the Flow Chemistry Society since 2010.

The Award will be presented at the Award Ceremony during IMRET 2018, the 15<sup>th</sup> International Conferences on MicroREaction Technology (21–24 October 2018.) in **Karlsruhe, Germany on October 21<sup>st</sup> at 7.00 pm.** 

The Prize was established in 2012 by a generous gift from the Hungarian Technology company ThalesNano Inc. to acknowledge the key role that flow chemistry plays towards the improvement of chemical processes, and all nominees were highly respected and well supported scientists. The jury has chosen Prof. Kappe as the winner out of a list of highly respectable scientists, nominated and recommended by leading scientists of the field. The jury comprises the chair of COCI, the latest awardee, and three more international experts.

Previous Awardees: **Professor Volker Hessel** (TU/e - Eindhoven University of Technology) received the award in **2016**, for his outstanding contributions to the methodology of organic syntheses, including homogeneous catalysis, photochemistry, plasma catalysis, and multiphase flow, setting new standards for flow chemistry.

## **Flow Chemistry Society**



Founded in 2010

The recipient of the **2014** Prize was **Professor Steven V. Ley** (University of Cambridge, UK) for his outstanding contribution and creative work in methodologies for organic synthesis, especially in multi-step synthesis in continuous flow chemistry reactor systems.

In 2012 the first IUPAC-ThalesNano Prize in Flow Chemistry was awarded to **Professor Klavs F. Jensen** (MIT, USA) for his outstanding contribution to the field of flow chemistry both in academia and industry. He is considered one of the pioneers of flow chemistry.