- Attendees: Prof. Kazuyuki Tatsumi (Chair); Dr. Mark Cesa, Prof. John Corish, Prof. Rene Deplanque, Prof. Nicole J. Moreau, Prof. Stan Penczek, Prof. Natalia P. Tarasova, Prof. Qi-Feng Zhou, Prof. Maria Camões, Prof. Mei-Hung Chiu, Dr. Michael Dröscher, Dr. Javier García-Martínez, Prof. Richard Hartshorn, Prof. Robert Loss, Dr. Laura McConnell, Prof. Doug Templeton, Prof. Maria van Dam-Mieras, Prof. Kaoru Yamanouchi, Prof. Chris Brett, Mr. Colin Humphris, Prof. Leiv Sydnes, Prof. Russell J. Boyd, Prof. Tavarekere K. Chandrashekar, Prof. Christopher K. Ober, Prof. Jan Reedijk, Dr. Karl-Heinz Hellwich, Dr. Bernard West
- Absentee: Prof. I. Willner, Prof. Michael Buback, Prof. Ram Lamba, Prof. Elsa Reichmanis, Prof. Tom Perun, Prof. Krishna Ganesh, Prof. Roberto Marquardt, Prof. Mary J. Garson, Prof. D. Brynn Hibbert
- Guests: Dr. Terry Renner, Prof. Greg Russell

Secretary: Dr. Fabienne Meyers

Prof. Tatsumi welcomed the members of the Bureau --of current term 2012-13 and newly elected for 2014-15-- to the meeting and invited members newly elected and reelected to introduce themselves: Prof. Russell J. Boyd (Canada), Prof. Tavarekere K. Chandrashekar (India), Prof. Richard Hartshorn (New Zealand), Mr. Colin Humphris (United Kingdom), Prof. Christopher K. Ober (United States), Prof. Kaoru Yamanouchi (Japan), Prof. Qi-Feng Zhou (China/Beijing)

The main item of business is the election of the three members of the Executive Committee selected from among the Elected Members of the Bureau.

Mark Cesa noted that of the current Elected Members on the Executive Committee, Natalia Tarasova has been elected VP and Stan Penczek would retire at the end of 2013. He reported that the officers had discussed the possible nomination of Ram Lamba who had been member on the Bureau for six years, and of Colin Humphris and Qi-Feng Zhou who both were just reelected for a second 4-year term. He asked if there were any other nominations. There were none and the three nominees were elected by show of hands.

The next meeting of the Executive Committee would include both the current members and the newly elected members of the EC. The meeting place is not yet known, and the date shall be confirmed; this EC 'transition' meeting should be held in October later this year.

The next Bureau meeting would most likely be held in April 2014. Date to be confirmed.

The venue is not yet known. Chris Brett proposed Portugal and Qi-Feng Zhou proposed China. Further inquiry to explore the option of meeting in Portugal shall follow-up promptly.

The usual schedule is to held the Bureau meeting on a Saturday all day and Sunday morning while the following ancillary meetings shall take place the day prior the formal Bureau meeting: Division Presidents/Standing Committee Chairs (Friday AM); Project Committee (Friday PM); Evaluation Committee (Friday PM)

Opportunities for the Division Presidents to meet individually with the officers are also usually arranged. There might be a need for the Prize Committee and the Membership Relations Committee to hold a meeting. Also the Executive Committee usually held a short meeting at the end of the Bureau meeting, on Sunday afternoon.

#### Other business

Kaoru Yamanouchi reported that as a result of an interdivisional meeting between Division I, II, and V, a new project proposal to reexamine the definition of the unit mole will be promptly initiated. Such project will provide input to the CCQM (Comité Consultatif pour la Quantité de Matière) which had its 19th meeting on 18-19 April 2013 and where Prof. Roberto Marquardt was invited to represent ICTNS; Dr. Ales Fajgelj was also present representing IUPAC. That meeting called for a wider consultation prior to the publication of the proposal of a new definition of the mole is released.

The Divisions also envisioned a workshop to be held in Busan during the 2015 GA.

Laura McConnell asked that clarifications be made on the nomination process for Elected Members on the Bureau. Current practices are currently rendering the process ambiguous. If *de facto* Divisions Committees are invited to make nominations, eligibility criteria are to be made clear and if restrictions imposed by NAOs do exist, these shall be specified.

Laura McConnell asked if the call for the Congress for 2021 will be processed in the coming year and for the Council to vote on in 2015. Such practice will preserve the 6-year forecast instead of the 4-year applied this year to the selection of the 2017 Congress. It was mentioned that in planning conference series, 6 years or even 8 years in advance is not unusual.

Nicole Moreau reported that the Prize Committee met during the General Assembly and that a proposal for change will be put forward in writing. The recommendations will cover the following points:

- no more than 1000 words, 5 figures and 8 publications
- commitment to contribute a paper to Pure and Applied Chemistry
- only one lab per NAO
- specify the nationality and location of graduate studies

Nicole Moreau indicated that the recommendations were in line with some of the ideas presented by the Young Observers during the WCLM. The task of the committee is quite difficult and Moreau invited any Bureau members interested in taking part in the committee work to volunteer.

Karl-Heinz Hellwich asked how to practically engaged Young Observers as they participated in the General Assembly. Bob Loss indicated that in the Inorganic Chemistry Division (Div II), a practice is to add them as member of a specific project task group. To further engage YOs beyond participation in task groups, a status such a "provisional member" was mentioned. Currently, the provisional member status is however reserved for individuals who can not be TM, AM, or NR because they are from a country that is not a NAO.

The Bureau includes several committees which membership will need to be updated in light of the new membership. These committees are:

The Membership Relations Committee (traditionally chaired by the Past President)

The Prize Committee (traditionally chaired by the Past President)

The Committee on Chemistry Research Funding (CCRF; traditionally chaired by the Past President, but includes no other Bureau member)

The Evaluation Committee (composed of five Members of the Bureau)

The Project Committee (composed of a Chair who shall not be a member of any other IUPAC body and five Elected Members of the Bureau. In addition, the Vice President shall be an ex officio voting member.)

The 2014-15 membership will be resolved by email and prior the end of the year. Nicole Moreau volunteered to collect members preference and interest. For completeness, a summary of the current membership is included in annex.

While concluding the meeting, the President acknowledged the service of retiring elected members, specifically Past President Nicole Moreau, Elsa Reichmanis, Maria van Dam-Mieras, and Stan Penczek.

\_\_\_\_

*Post meeting note*: several incoming DPs were not informed about their invited participation to this short Bureau meeting and several have noted that their absence were unforeseeable/unplanned.