Project Details Educational Workshop in Polymer Sciences 2020+

Project No.:
2019-022-1-400
Start Date:
01 September 2019
End Date:
Division Name:

Objective

International conferences, in bringing researchers from different backgrounds and different levels of access to opportunities together, are ideal venues for educational activities to improve the practice of science, particularly in the emerging nations.

This series of interactive annual educational workshops/short course (2016-2020) on polymer sciences is intended primarily for students or active researchers from emerging countries. One topic will be focused on each educational workshop, which are planned to be held one day before each of the major international meetings MACRO2016, POLYCHAR2017, MACRO2018 and MACRO2020, lasting for either a day or half a day. Rather than be confined to a single day of oral presentations, it is intended that the workshop content will be maintained on the website of the IUPAC Sub-committee on Polymer Education.

This project is limited to the workshop in 2020+
> See project related to earlier workshop held at MACRO2016, POLYCHAR2017, or MACRO2018

Description

To start, we will identify experts from the committee members of IUPAC Polymer Division or the keynote or invited speakers of MACRO2020 and propose them as the course instructors for the educational workshop in 2020 (one day before MACRO2020 – update to Macro2020+). Their lectures shall emphasize on basic science, terms and concepts that are critical to experimental design and data interpretation in polymer sciences and technology. The content from the workshop will be maintained in perpetuity on the IUPAC Polymer Education webpage. Task group co-chairs will coordinate the discussions and to facilitate a more in-depth interaction between the experts and the attendees and postgraduates and young researchers.

Proposed program in 2020 (1/2 day) !!POSTPONED to May 2021!!
Theme: Polymers for applications (in conjunction with MACRO2020+, Jeju Island)
Date: Sunday, 5 July 2020
Time: 1.00 pm to 5.00 pm
Venue: International Convention Center, Jeju Island, Korea
Number of participants: Roughly 100 pax
Fee: (1) Complimentary for the participants of MACRO2020 OR (2) USD150 (International) or KRW150,000 for solely attending Educational Workshop on Polymers for Applications.

Progress

MACRO2020 initially scheduled 5-9 July 2020 is postponed to 16-20 May 2021

Tentative program: Theme: Polymers for applications | Date: Sunday, 16 May 2021 | Time: 3.00 pm to 4.30 pm KST (6.00 am to 7.30 am UTC)

The pre-recorded educational workshop is a set of lectures by experts in the field describing different aspects of interest to the participants of MACRO2020+. The following topics will be presented.

 

Important notes:

(1)  The participants leave comments/questions on the workshop webpage and the instructors provide response on the webpage.

(2)  Q&A duration: 16 May 2021, 3.00 pm KST to 20 May 2021, 6 pm KST

 

Time

Lecture

Speaker

2.55 pm – 3.00 pm KST

5.55 am – 6.00 am UTC

 

Pre-recorded welcoming speech by the Co-chair of IUPAC Project under Polymer Education Subcommittee

3.00 pm – 3.30 pm KST

6.00 am – 6.30 am UTC

“Polymers for applications“ – The long way from an idea and work in the academic lab towards a product

Prof. Dr. Holger Schönherr

Click here for lecture note

Click here for video

3.30 pm – 4.00 pm KST

6.30 am – 7.00 am UTC

Polymers for future electronics

Prof. Dr. Myung-Han Yoon

Click here for lecture notes

Click here for video

4.00 pm – 4.30 pm KST

7.00 am – 7.30 am UTC

Engineering of polymer nanoparticle morphology for paint applications

Prof. Dr. Per Zetterlund

Click here for lecture notes

Click here for video

 

Download workshop leaflet (PDF v. 18Mar21)

See http://macro2020.org

Page last updated 28 July 2021

 

 

Partners