IUPAC Elections for the 2020-2021 Term – Call for nominations

Every two years, IUPAC holds an election for its officers and committee members. Any qualified individual who is interested in being nominated is invited to contact his/her National Adhering Organization (NAO) and/or the current committee officers. Details on the CALL FOR NOMINATIONS is available hereNominations must be completed no later than 31 January 2019.

Election of IUPAC Officers and Bureau Members

At its General Assembly in Paris, France, on 10-11 July 2019, the IUPAC Council will be asked to elect a Vice President, a Secretary General, a Treasurer, and members of the Bureau to fulfill the vacancies created by retiring members. IUPAC National Adhering Organizations are now invited to submit nominations no later than 31 March 2019.

On 1 January 2020 Christopher Brett (Portugal), Vice President and President-Elect of IUPAC, will become President. Qi-Feng Zhou (China), current President, will become Past President and remain an officer and a member of the Bureau for a period of two years, while Natalia Tarasova (Russia), current Past President, will retire. Secretary General Richard Hartshorn (New Zealand) and Treasurer Colin Humphris (UK) were both elected by the Council in August 2015 for a four-year term and are eligible to be nominated for an additional four-year term commencing in 2020. Nominations are invited.

In addition, there are this year five vacancies for Elected Members of the Bureau. Elected Members are elected to a four-year term, and are eligible for re-election to a second four-year term. No National Adhering Organization shall have more than one Elected Member on the Bureau, and the principle of fair geographical representation of Members shall be taken into account, as stipulated in the IUPAC Statutes.

Elected Members whose terms expire at the end of 2019 are:

  • Prof. Mei-Hung Chiu (China/Taipei) (2016-2019); eligible for nomination
  • Prof. Hemda Garelick (UK) (2016-2019); eligible for nomination
  • Prof. Ehud Keinan (Israel) (2016-2019); eligible for nomination
  • Prof. Kew-Ho Lee (Korea) (2016-2019); eligible for nomination
  • Prof. Pietro Tundo (Italy) (2016-2019); eligible for nomination


The following are Members whose terms continue to the end of 2021:

  • Prof. Russell J. Boyd (Canada) (2014-2017, 2018-2021)
  • Prof. Javier García-Martínez (Spain) (2018-2021)
  • Prof. Mary Garson (Australia) (2018-2021)
  • Prof. Christopher K. Ober (USA) (2014-2017, 2018-2021)
  • Prof. Ken Sakai (Japan) (2018-2021)

In addition to the five officers and the ten Elected Members, the Bureau also includes the eight Division Presidents (each elected by each individual Division), and five members representing the following Standing Committees, i.e. the Committee on Chemistry Education (CCE), the Committee on Chemistry and Industry (COCI), CHEMRAWN (the Committee on CHEMical Research Applied to World Needs), the Interdivisional Committee on Terminology, Nomenclature and Symbols (ICTNS), and the Committee on Publications and Cheminformatics Data Standards (CPCDS).

IUPAC National Adhering Organizations are invited to submit nominations to the Secretary General via the Executive Director at <[email protected]> no later than 31 March 2019.

It is important for a vibrant organization that all vacant positions are filled after a fair and vigorous election process, so all nominations are encouraged. So, to make your voice heard, contact your National Adhering Organization and get involved.

A call for the general elections for the 2020-21 term was released earlier on 2 October 2018 and published in CI Oct 2018, and recall above. This call for Election of IUPAC Officers and Bureau Members is published in CI Jan 2019.


What Does the Bureau Do?

See the Bylaws for more details, https://iupac.org/who-we-are/organizational-guidelines/bureau/

Comments are closed.