IUPAC Awards in Analytical Chemistry – Call for nominations

The Analytical Chemistry Division of IUPAC has established two awards, including:

– The Emerging Innovator Award in Analytical Chemistry – an award to recognize outstanding work undertaken by an emerging analytical scientist that corresponds to the aims of the Analytical Chemistry Division.
– The IUPAC Analytical Chemistry Medal – an award to recognize significant lifetime contribution to the aims of the Analytical Chemistry Division.

The awards are open worldwide to researchers working in the field of analytical chemistry. The Emerging Innovator Award is for researchers who are at an early stage of their independent career, as measured by the completion of a PhD within the last ten years. Appropriate consideration will be given to those who have taken a career break or followed a different study path. Nominations must be based on published works in the field of analytical chemistry. The Analytical Chemistry Medal is for researchers who have a substantial record of achievements demonstrated by the number and quality of their publications, by being actively involved in international partnerships as well as by their commitment in the training of the next generation of analytical chemists.

The Award will be presented every two years during the IUPAC General Assembly/World Chemistry Congress. The awardees will be invited to the meeting of the Analytical Chemistry Division to receive their award and to present a lecture.

Nomination package must include a letter of nomination and a curriculum vitae of the nominee. See specific details in the application forms (link below).

Complete applications must be received via the submission form no later than 31 January 2023.

Access the application form
Emerging Innovator Award
Analytical Chemistry Medal

The Awards are managed by the Analytical Chemistry Division (ACD, Division V) of IUPAC. For information, please contact IUPAC by e-mail at <[email protected]>.

The first awardees were announced in June 2021 and presented during the Virtual 2021 IUPAC Congress. 

(announcement published in Chem Int Jan 2023, p.20)


In 2023 Janusz Pawliszyn (University of Waterloo) received the IUPAC Analytical Chemistry Medal and Xin Yan (Texas A&M University) received the Emerging Innovator Award in Analytical Chemistry… see announcement (posted 22 Nov 2023)

Comments are closed.