Actions taken at IUPAC Council and Bureau, Paris, France 2019

The Council met in Paris, France on Wednesday, 10 July and Thursday, 11 July 2019, and the Bureau met on Tuesday, 9 July and Friday, 12 July 2019. The following actions were taken:

1. Election of the Officers

On 1 January 2020, Christopher M.A. Brett (Portugal), Vice President and President-Elect of IUPAC, will become President. Qi-Feng Zhou (China), current President, will become Past President and remain an officer and a member of the Bureau for a period of two years. Meanwhile, Natalia Tarasova (Russia), current Past President, will retire. Secretary General Richard Hartshorn (New Zealand) and Treasurer Colin Humphris (UK) were both elected by the Council in August 2015 for a four-year term and renominated for an additional term; they were both reelected (see below).

Vice President and President Elect
The candidates for Vice President were Professor Javier García Martinez (Spain) and Prof. Supawan Tantayanon (Thailand).
Javier García Martinez (Spain) was elected.

2. Election of Members of the Bureau
The following were elected to the Bureau:

Ghada Bassoni (Egypt)
Bipul Behari Saha (India)
Ehud Keinan (Israel) (2016-2019); reappoint
Gloria Obuzor (Nigeria)
Petr Fedotov (Russia)
Mei-Hung Chiu (China/Taipei) (2016-2019); reappoint
View all nominations

The following are Members whose terms continue to the end of 2021:
Russell J. Boyd (Canada) (2014-2017; 2018-2021)
Mary Garson (Australia)
Christopher K. Ober (USA) (2014-2017; 2018-2021)
Ken Sakai (Japan)

3. The Bureau elected the following members to the Executive Committee:
Russell J. Boyd (Canada)
Mei-Hung Chiu (China/Taipei); continue
Christopher K. Ober (USA); continue

4. The appointments of the following Division Officers were approved.

Division I – Physical and Biophysical Chemistry Division
President: Timothy Wallington (USA)
Vice President: Pierangelo Metrangolo (Italy)
Past President: Ron Weir (Canada)
Secretary: Attila Csaszar (Hungary)

Division II – Inorganic Chemistry Division
President: Lars R. Ohrström (Sweden)
Vice President: tba
Secretary: Daniel Rabinovich (USA)

Division III – Organic and Biomolecular Chemistry Division
President: Nikolay Nifantiev (Russia)
Vice President: Amelia P. Rauter (Portugal)
Past President: Francesco Nicotra (Italy)
Secretary: Slawomir Jarosz (Poland)

Division IV – Polymer Division
President: Christine Luscombe (USA)
Vice President: Igor Lacik (Slovakia)
Past President: Gregory Russell (New Zealand)
Secretary: Paul Topham (UK)

Division V – Analytical Chemistry Division
President: Zoltan Mester (Canada)
Vice President: David Shaw (USA)
Past President: Jan Labuda (Slovakia)
Secretary: Derek Craston (UK)

Division VI – Chemistry and the Environment Division
President: Hemda Garelick (UK)
Vice President: Roberto Terzano (Italy)
Past President: Rai Kookana (Australia)
Secretary: Annemieke Farenhorst (Canada)

Division VII – Chemistry and Human Health Division
President: Rita Cornelis (Belgium)
Vice President: Helle Johannessen (Denmark)
Secretary: Vladimir Gubala (UK)

Division VIII – Chemical Nomenclature and Structure Representation Division
President: Alan Hutton (South Africa)
Vice President: Michelle Rogers (USA)
Secretary: Risto Laitinen (Finland)

And following the Council agenda numbering 

C2. Council approved the minutes of the 49th Council meeting in São Paulo, Brazil by show of hands. To be posted on the IUPAC website, and NAO’s to be notified.

C3. Council ratified all decisions taken by the Bureau and Executive Committee since those approved by the Council at São Paulo, Brazil (Minute 3, 49th Meeting) through calendar year 2018, by show of hands.

C4. Council formally adopted the Recommendations approved by the Interdivisional Committee on Terminology, Nomenclature and Symbols (ICTNS) and published, or scheduled to be published, in Pure and Applied Chemistry from August 2017 through June 2019.

C6. Council approved the appointments of Michelle Rogers (USA), Jan Reedijk (Netherlands) and Fabienne Meyers (IUPAC Secretariat) as Election Tellers, by show of hands.

C10.1 Council approved the Singapore National Institute of Chemistry (SNIC) as a National Adhering Organization effective 1 January 2020, by delegation.
C10.2 Council approved the LANOTEC-CeNAT (Costa Rica) as a National Adhering Organization effective 1 January 2020, by delegation.
C10.3 Council approved the Jordanian Chemical Society as a National Adhering Organization effective 1 January 2020, by delegation.

C12. Council approved the proposed sets of Division Rules.

C13. Council approved the results from elections of Division Committee Officers (see above). Council received the results from elections of Titular Members of the Division Committees.

C14. Council ratified the elections of the new Vice President, Secretary General, Treasurer and Elected Members of the Bureau at the 50th General Assembly in Paris, France. (see above) Results of Council voting for Vice President: Prof. Supawan Tantayanon = 34, Prof. Javier García Martínez = 122, by written and secret ballot. Total votes = 156.
Results of Council voting for Secretary General, Prof. Richard Hartshorn: For = 136, Against = 19 and Abstain=1, by written and secret ballot. Total votes = 156.
Results of Council voting for Treasure, Mr. Colin Humphris: For = 145, Against = 9 and Abstain = 2, by written and secret ballot. Total votes = 156.
Council elected the following members of Bureau for the term 2020-2023, by written and secret ballot.
Dr. Ghada Bassoni (Egypt) Votes: 97
Dr. Bipul Behari Saha (India) Votes: 83
Prof. Ehud Keinan (Israel) Votes: 97
Prof. Gloria Obuzor (Nigeria) Votes: 101
Prof. Petr Fedotov (Russia) Votes: 78
Prof. Mei-Hung Chiu (China/Taipei) Votes: 114

C15. Council voted for the site and dates of the 50th World Chemistry Congress and 53rd General Assembly in 2025 by written and secret ballot. (B2.23 Simple Majority)
Institut Kimia Malaysia, IKM will host the 50th World Chemistry Congress and 53rd General Assembly 11-18 July 2025 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Majority was 77 votes.

C16. Council received reports of the Standing Committees and Bureau Committees and Interdivisional Committees.

C18.5.5 Council approved the future appointment of the Centenary Endowment Fund Board of Directors including external Directors by the Executive Committee. Council also approved the Executive Committee to progress in the formation of the fund and its guiding documents.

C18.6 Council approved McMillan, Pate and Company, LLP as auditors for IUPAC for the financial year 2019 onwards.

C19.1 Council voted against the Executive Committee recommendation to dissolve/disestablish CHEMRAWN.
Votes: For=45; Against=74 and Abstain=29

C19.2 Council approved the motion that the Chairs of CPCDS, ICTNS, CCE, COCI, and ICGCSD should be full voting members of Bureau.

C19.3 Council approved the motion that a working group be established to undertake a complete review of the organizational structure of IUPAC.

C20.2 Council approved of the Proposed Budget for 2020-2021, voting by cards.
See budget approved

C21.2 Council approved the motion for removal of SEANAC and EFCE as IUPAC Associated Organizations of IUPAC (AO).

C22. Council approved the removal of Ghana Institute for Pure and Applied Chemistry as ANAO of IUPAC.

C25. Council reauthorized the Commission on Physicochemical Symbols, Terminology and Units, the Commission on Isotopic Abundances and Atomic Weights, and the IUBMB- IUPAC Joint Commission on Biochemical Nomenclature (JCBN).

C33. IUPAP Letter of Recognition of IUPAC’s Centenary was read during Council to the delegations.

See You in Montréal, in August 2021!

back to Council page | Bureau page | GA2019

Comments are closed.