2022 IUPAC-Richter Prize – Call for Nominations

IUPAC and Gedeon Richter, Plc. are pleased to announce the 2022 IUPAC-Richter Prize in Medicinal Chemistry.

The 2022 IUPAC-Richter Prize will be presented during the 37th ACS National Medicinal Chemistry Symposium (26-29 June 2022) in New York (USA) and the recipient will also give a lecture on the subject of his/her/ research at the XXVII EFMC International Symposium on Medicinal Chemistry (4-8 September 2022) in Nice (France).

The prize is to be awarded to an internationally recognized scientist, preferably a medicinal chemist, whose activities or published accounts have made an outstanding contribution to the practice of medicinal chemistry or to an outstanding example of new drug discovery.

Prize USD 10,000


The Prize has been established by a generous gift from the Chemical Works of Gedeon Richter, Plc.  (Budapest, Hungary) to acknowledge the key role that medicinal chemistry plays toward improving human health.

Applicants should be received by NOMINATION only, with just one person needing to serve in that capacity, although a total of five (5) individuals should be listed as referees overall. The package must be submitted electronically and should contain a complete resume, a professional autobiography of not more than two pages, and a one-page summary of what the individual considers to be his/her activities, accomplishments and/or publications that have had the most significant impact upon the field of Medicinal Chemistry. The material will be forwarded confidentially to an independent selection committee appointed by the IUPAC Subcommittee on Medicinal Chemistry and Drug Development.

For further information please contact Prof. Janos Fischer, Chair of the Jury and Member of the IUPAC Sub-committee on Drug Discovery and Drug Development, by e-mail at [email protected]

Nomination materials should be submitted by 15 December 2021 through this Nomination Form 

Call for nominations published in Chem Int Oct 2021, p. 23

For earlier announcements including awardees presentation, visit this page.


Comments are closed.