2016 IUPAC-ThalesNano Prize in Flow Chemistry – Call for Nominations

The IUPAC-ThalesNano Prize has been established in 2011. The 2014 recipient was University of Cambridge Professor Steven V. Ley. The IUPAC-ThalesNano Prize will be awarded again in 2016. The award shall be presented at the 14th International Conference on MicroReaction Technology (IMRET) in September 2016 Beijing, China. A contribution to travel expenses will be provided.

The prize is to be awarded to an internationally recognized scientist, whose activities or published accounts have made an outstanding contribution in the field of flow chemistry in academia or industry.

The Prize -of a monetary value of USD 7500- has been established by a generous gift from the Hungarian Technology company ThalesNano Inc. to acknowledge the key role that flow chemistry plays towards the improvement of chemical processes.

Applicants should be received by nominations only, with just one person needing to serve in that capacity, although a total of five (5) individuals should be listed as referees overall. The package must be submitted electronically and should contain a complete resume, a professional autobiography of not more than two pages, and a one-page summary of what the individual considers to be his/her activities, accomplishments and/or publications that have had the most significant impact upon the field of Flow Chemistry. The material will be forwarded confidentially to an independent selection committee appointed by the IUPAC Committee on Chemistry and Industry.

Nomination materials should be submitted by 31 January 2016 to the chair of the IUPAC Committee on Chemistry and Industry, Dr. Bernard West, by email at:  [email protected]


PS: On 31 May 2016, the Committee on Chemistry and Industry announced that Volker Hessel is awarded the 2016 IUPAC ThalesNano Prize for Flow Chemistry.

Comments are closed.